top of page

HAMILTON, ON


As the winter season comes to an end we start to notice the different living conditions of Downtown Hamilton, ON. To some it may seem scary but to others it is a whole new experience and is beautiful.

“He spent himself, the labor of his ax,

And leave it there far from a useful fireplace

To warm the frozen swamp as best it could

With the slow smokeless burning of decay”

The Wood- Pile by Robert Frost

Vanessa: Never having been to Hamilton before this, it felt like our first stop here gave me a quick glance at what it's like. Even though I know not the entire city looks as in rough of shape as this store but it was hard for me to imagine it any other way until I saw it with my own eyes.

Taylor: I am not from this part of Hamilton but I do know how scary and dirty this city can look and to be quiet honest it is very unappealing. Despite the down sides of thee town, I can really see the beauty in it, even though it is hard for others. This store has closed its doors and has shut the gates. The beauty in this picture can be seen in the gates because despite the rust and discoloration, the gates are still elegant.

Vanessa:This reminded me of areas in downtown London, older, boarded up. Places like this sometimes give you the chills because it seems like no one has lived there for years. Or, gives you the chills because you see people hanging around there and wonder how they could live in the same city as you in a place you would see as abandoned or clearly not kept up with

Taylor: This picture, again, makes Hamilton looks gross and like people have just picked up their belongings and left. But in this picture I see that the buildings are showing the wear and tear of keeping families safe from weather conditions and possibly other people.

Vanessa: This building intrigued me because in an area that feels like a ghost town and dull with no life, we came across this building which stood out due to its colours. The bright pink bars on the windows popped against the brown coloured walls giving it the tiniest sense of excitement in a place, as I said, that feels like it has no life.

Taylor: As Vanessa said, the pink bars give the dull coloured building life and excitement. The bars also signify the safety that the building provides for the family or occupants.


bottom of page